Cockington Christmas Caper

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Click on link below to visit the official race website


Saturday 12th December 2015

This will be the 11th running of this very popular race in the beautiful Cockington Country Park. This years course is approximatly 8 miles (see race route page for map and details)

Arran Tocknell wins his 7th Cockington Christmas Caper
Saturday 13th December 2014

Grand Prix Multi Terrain Table

The 2014 Cockington Christmas Caper now in its 10th year and started and finished at Occombe Farm. This year runners were being encouraged to raise sponsorship for Torbay Holiday Helpers Network. £1 of every runner entry fee was donated to this charity. THHN has absolutely snowballed since Luke Tillen founded it in 2009 and it now sends families who have children with serious illnesses, bereaved families who have children and families with children who have a terminally ill parent from all across the UK on free holidays, not just to Torbay but to destinations across the country and abroad. The charity has grown at such a rapid speed thanks to the generosity of the local business community and businesses further afield.


Almost all 275 places for this event were taken before race day. The Christmas Caper race was part of Torbay Athletic Club’s Grand Prix race series which help produced 33 runners from the Torquay based club.

This year the course has slightly change but was still provided for participants with beautiful Cockington Country Park through 8¼ miles of scenic countryside! providing some of the muddiest and steepest hills in Torbay through Scadson Woods where runners had a couple of small river crossing, there were certainly plenty of thrills and spills for spectators to enjoy.

This year Arran Tocknell was neck and neck with his team mate Lee Turner until mile 7 then Arran manage to pull away and cross the line 21 seconds ahead of Lee. New club member Scott Watkins ran his first race as a Torbay Athletic Club member and took the 3rd podium position. 1, 2, 3 wasn’t good enough for Torbay so David Tomlin finished 4th in 1 hour dead to complete an amazing 1, 2, 3, 4.

This was Arran 7th Cockington Christmas Caper win since the race started 10 years ago, Arran won it in 2005 and 2006 and then came back strong in 2010 and won it five years in a row.

Torbay Athletic Club had five members in to 8 when Charlie Baker cross the line in 1:03:49.
Torbay Arran, Lee and Scot were first three senior men and David Tomlin was first in his age 40 category.
It was first race back for many years for Torbay David Gow Smith who won his age category 55.
Ray Wilson won his age 65 category.
Catherine Parkinson was 2nd 45, Karen Frissen 1st 50, Irene Hewings 2nd 55.
It was first race for Torbay Athletic Club Eileen Severn and she ran really well winning her age category 65.

It was first race for new member Nicholas Cull who finished 36 in 1:17:36.

A festive atmosphere was created with every finisher receiving a Christmas cake and being greeted with the sound of Christmas carols at the finish line.
Runners who completed the race were also awarded a unique Cockington Christmas Caper mug.

Torbay Athletic Club Results
1 Arran Tocknell (57:33, 1st SM) – 2 Lee Turner (57:54. 2nd SM) – 3 Scott Watkins (59:07, 3rd SM) – 4 David Tomlim (1:00:00, 1st MV40) – 8 Charlie Baker (1:03:49) – 15 Ryan Benney (1:06:18) – 20 David Gow Smith (1:09:10, 1st MV55) – 32 Stephen Lofthouse (1:16:56) – 36 Nicholas Cull (1:17:36) – 38 Catherine Parkinson (1:18:19, 2nd FV45) – 39 Phil Bates (1:18:54) – 40 Chris Leaman (1:19:09) – 42 Adam Hill 1:19:48) – 43 Brian Lewis (1:20:06) – 50 Paul Frissen (1:22:35) – 56 Julian Jones (1:24:13) – 62 Gary Brenton (1:25:10) – 67 Roger Matthews 1:26:22) – 71 Sarah Wake (1:26:41) – 73 Ray Wilson (1:27:02, 1st MV65) – 80 Karen Frissen (1:28:36, 1st FV50) – 82 Jonathan Cowling (1:29:32) – 84 Linda Philippou (1:29:35) – 90 Andrea Kingdon (1:30:13) – 91 Trystan King (1:30:13) – 107 Irene Hewings (1:33:00, 2nd FV55) – 108 Tessa Hearfeld (1:33:05) – 126 Steven Rowe (1:36:43) – 135 Eve Bates (1:38:44) – 151 Nick Hayes (1:42:49) – 168 Debbie Drake (1:46:50) – 169 Eileen Severn (1:47:00, 1st FV55) – 180 Sally Shoolbraid (1:50:58)

Herald December 18 b

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *