Bicton Blister

Print Friendly, PDF & Email



Website >

Sunday 29th November 2015

Twelve Torbay AC members ran in the Bicton Blister with men taking the Team prize led home by Simon Longthorpe (1:01:08) in second place overall followed by Lee Turner 4th (1:01:53), Dave Tomlin 10th (1:05:05) and Martyn Breslan 13th (1:05:52) Martyn having finished 3rd at the Parkrun the day before. The Blister so aptly named as there were plenty of them! is a 10 mile multi-terrain race on Woodbury Common East Devon, starting and finishing at Bicton College with short road sections the remainder of the race being on sandy, stony and muddy paths across the Commons The Bicton Lite is the Bicton Blister’s little Brother, 4.5 miles same start and finish, just less distance on the Commons.

Torbay Blister results
2 Simon Longthorpe (1:01:08) – 4 Lee Turner (1:01:53) – 10 David Tomlin (1:05:05) – 13 Martyn Breslan (1:05:52) – 83 Garry Hooker (1:18:54) – 101 James Hartridge (1:21:14) – 201 Paul Frissen (1:30:08) – 234 Karen Frissen (1:33:42) – 298 Steve Rowe (1:39:36) – 328 Tessa Hearfield (1:44:13) – 379 Fay Cameron (1:55:18) – 395 Kirsten Mundy (2:00:50)

Blister Lite
88 William Valentine (0:58:18)

Sunday 30th November 2014

Results14 Bicton Blister Team
Fourteen Torbay Athletic Club members travelled to East Devon to compete in the Bicton Blister. Over 500 runner took part in the Bicton Blister and Bicton Lite races which were multi-terrain events over and around Woodbury Common in East Devon, starting and finishing at Bicton College East Budleigh. The Bicton Lite race being approx 4.5 miles with the Blister being approx 10 miles of the gruelling terrain over Bicton & Woodbury commons

In a battle for first place between Torbay’s Arran Tocknell and Tiverton Harriers Kevin Squibb, Tocknell, the stronger on the hills, was ahead for most of the race with Squibb faster on the flat. In the last mile being on road and mainly flat Squibb managed catch and overtake Tocknell to win by 23 seconds in 1:01:23. Next home for Torbay was Dave Tomlin in 5th place in 1:02:15, with Lee Turner next in 6th place. Tomlin won the 3rd MV40 award with Turner taking the 3rd Senior man award. The men’s team prize was awarded to the Club with the four fastest runners. Torbay AC had Club finishers in 3rd.5th.6th and 99th positions, but with South West Road Runners having finishers in 15th,16th, 31st and 34th positions, South West Road Runners took the Men’s Team prize by 18 points from Torbay. It was the first race for Torbay’s new member Adam Hill who had a good run despite a knee problem, First Torbay lady finisher was Cathy Parkinson who ran extremely well in spite of a heavy cold and finishing just ahead of club mate team Stephen Wilbraham. Parkinson won 3rd Lady Vet 45 award. The event was won by Ceri Rees from the Wild Running Club in a time of 59:27. Rees trains regularly with the Torbay Club along with his team mate Tom Allan who finished 11th. In the Bicton Lite race Bill Valentine who joined the Club in 1970 was the only member running finishing 84th in a time of 1:00:47.

Torbay Athletic Club results…
3 Arran Tocknell (1:01:46, 1st Senior Man) – 5 David Tomlin (1:02:15, 3rd MV40) – 6 Lee Turner (1:02:46, 3rd Senior man) – 99 Martyn Breslan (1:19:33) – 131 Cathy Parkinson (1:23:08, 3rd Senior Lady) -134 Stephen Wilbraham (1:23:20)- 152 Stephen Lofthouse (1:24:36) – 158 Brian Lewis (1:26:14) – 183 Adam Hill (1:27:48) – 218 Steven Sharp (1:31:11) – 276 Ray Brown (1:37:39) – 283 Irene Hewings (1:39:03) – 310 Tessa Hearfield (1:40:42) – 391 Deborah Drake (1:51:46) – 431 Rachel Kidd (2:03:41)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *